JD (zophine) wrote in colorado_celiac,
JD
zophine
colorado_celiac

Hidden sources of gluten


Hidden Sources of Gluten:
**The following ingredients are questionable and should not be consumed unless you can verify they do not contain or are derived from prohibited grains:

Caramel Color (infrequently made from barley)
Dextrin (usually corn, but may be derived from wheat)
Malt or Malt flavoring (usually made from barley. Okay if made from corn)
Malt vinegar
Modified Food Starch (unless it is made in the US which requires the label to read wheat)

Additional components frequently overlooked that often contain gluten:
Breading
Broth
Brown Rice Syrup (frequently made with barley)
Coating Mixes (shake and bake, etc.)
Communion Wafers
Croutons
Cereal products
Chips (such as Doritos and Pringles or flavored potato chips)
Flour and flour mixes
Imitation Bacon (Baconbits, etc)
Imitation Seafood
Marinades
Pastas
Processed Meats (luncheon meats, etc.)
Roux
Sauces and Gravies
Self-Basting poultry
Soup Base
Cream of anything soups
Soy Sauce (check ingredients!)
Stuffing
Thickeners

**Be aware that hidden gluten can be found in some unlikely foods such as cold cuts, soups, hard candies, many low or non-fat products, licorice, jelly beans, and even dried meat products like jerky.

**Alcohol and vinegar products that are properly distilled should not contain any harmful gluten peptides (or prolomines). Research indicates that the gluten peptide is too large to carry over in the distillation process. This leaves the resultant liquid gluten-free unless a gluten containing additive is inserted AFTER the distillation process. Alcohols and vinegars should be carefully investigated for additives before use. Malt vinegars are not distilled and therefore are not gluten-free.
Tags: food, information, lists
Subscribe
  • Post a new comment

    Error

    Anonymous comments are disabled in this journal

    default userpic

    Your IP address will be recorded 

  • 0 comments